Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx) on My Optiplex GX260

I always look forward to new Ubuntu releases – not because I use Ubuntu a lot, but because it usually presents a challenge!

I was finally able to install Lucid on my trusty GX260 desktop alongside Windows 7. As with all Ubuntu releases, the components that did not install smoothly were:

  1. Wireless USB – Airlink 101 Golden N mini USB (Model: AWLL6075)
  2. PCI graphics card – GE Force 6200 256 MB Ram

However, I am happy to report that I finally have my desktop running Lucid perfectly (Suspend/Hibernate also work well!). Here’s a summary of the steps I had to take:

Wireless Internet

After some research, I realized that the drivers to run this are already present (I did NOT have to download, and compile the drivers from realtek).. All that is missing is the “firmware”. Click here to download this. Extract it and place it in the /lib/firmware/RTL8192SU directory like so :

/lib/firmware/RTL8192SU/rtl8192sfw.bin

(If the RTL8192SU directory does not exist, go ahead and create it)

Now, if you insert your mini USB, it should detect the wireless signals around. I have WPA2 encryption enabled and it works fine (via the network-manager applet)

Oh.. and one other thing.. Once you are connected to your AP, go into the wireless configuration and click on “Enable for all users”.. Doing this ensures that you are not prompted to unlock the Keyring on every boot.

Video Card

My Optiplex has an inbuilt intel extreme graphics card and Ubuntu works fine without hooking up my GEforce card. However, when the PCI adapter is plugged in, Ubuntu does not boot (It displays a bunch of error messages and freezes).

Here’s how I got the boot process working:

  1. Allow ubuntu to boot normally after removing the pci card
  2. Once you are logged in

Navigate to
>/etc/modprobe.d

>sudo nano blacklist.conf

Add the lines:

blacklist intel_agp
blacklist agpgart

3. Shut down

4. Install the PCI card and restart

Ok.. that took care of the boot problem and I was successfully able to login. However, Compiz refused to enable desktop effects (the main reason of installing a graphics card in the first place!)

Running compiz –check gave me the following message:

Blacklisted PCI ID 8086:2562 detected

I tried the compiz recommended solution to this problem (added SKIP_CHECKS=”yes” in the config file). However, the problem persisted.

Finally, I stumbled upon this page http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1467202 that presented a novel solution to the problem. It turns out the compiz executable has this blacklisted id hardcoded. The solution involved modifying the compiled code.

sudo apt-get install ghex
sudo ghex2 /usr/bin/compiz

Search for the string 8086:2562 in the hex code (I was unable to use the search feature.. found it by scrolling somewhere near the end). I replaced the ‘2’ to a  ‘4’ (any other number should work as well) and saved it.

Once this is done, go ahead and enable desktop effects. If all went well, you should have all the compiz bells and whistles!

12 thoughts on “Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx) on My Optiplex GX260

      1. Hi.

        I followed your steps and I could connect to the Internet.
        But I get this.

        edd@edd-desktop:~$ dmesg | grep r819
        [ 24.588465] r8192s_usb: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
        edd@edd-desktop:~$ iwconfig
        lo no wireless extensions.

        eth0 no wireless extensions.

        wlan0 802.11b/g link ESSID:”INFINITUMe19d”
        Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412 GHz Access Point: 64:16:F0:CF:D0:C8
        Bit Rate=54 Mb/s
        Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
        Power Management:off
        Link Quality=59/100 Signal level=-52 dBm Noise level=-99 dBm
        Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
        Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

        edd@edd-desktop:~$

        I read in a forum rt2800usb add blacklist, but not how. help me please

  1. On the Realtek wifi, I found this didn’t work, and that nothing would make the driver supplied with 10.04 work. Instead, I downloaded RTLl8192SU_usb_linux_v2.6.0006.20100511.zip directly from Realtek (extract, make, sudo su, make install, sudo modprobe 8712u, make clean, sudo gedit “8712u” into listing of /etc/modules). Best to copy rtl8192sfw from /lib/firmware/RTL8192SE, since this is a later version (80976 vs. 68368 B of download you list). Some have suggested blacklisting of native drivers, or hobbling them (i.e. sudo mv r8192s_usb.ko r8192s_usb.ko.bak in /lib/modules/2.6.32-21-generic/kernel/drivers/staging/rtl8192su/), since the native driver interferes with the Realtek one. This seems to give a stable result. Hope this helps.

  2. Great post! Thanks!

    How did you get suspend/hibernate to work, or was it working out of the box? Mine doesn’t shut off the fans at suspend, and it won’t wake up from it.

    Tom

  3. Great post my friend! I was having one hell of a time getting compiz to work with my graphics card in 10.10. After doing what you suggested in this post….all is well. Thank you very much.

  4. This solution works in my Dell XPS 15 with nVidia with Optimus card (nVidia does not work, but removing intel card from blacklist makes compiz be able to run smoothly)

Leave a Reply

